Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Game review

The following game is the last in a series of 6 consecutive wins in IGS, after my epic failure. I was quite proud of myself this time as I strove to stay calm. Before the battle in the center, I felt that I was far behind, maybe because I was playing mostly in gote, or maybe because of the saying that we tend to see our opponents prospects better than our own.

At the end of the game, we didn't fill in every dame, as a result, point 'A' in the diagram wasn't filled. Is it considered a dame or not? IGS scored W+129.5 but Quarry W+130.5 instead! This is the answer given by a friend: when both players pass, the game may resume if there is a dispute. So in this case, if black wants to consider A as part of his territory, players should continue play until black has no choice but to connect at A. Notice also that in this particular case white could have made an extra point in the dame area.


  1. Congrats on the huge win! And also, great job recognizing that White could make another point in the dame area. Very nice.